pgmfi.org

Hacking up Honda's ECU
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:24 am
Posts: 90
(NOTE: I know this doesn't really belong in chrome forum, but I figured it would be seen by more that are actually running 2.5bar map sensor.)

having problems on hooking up a motorola 2.5 bar map... I have signal to pin 1, ground to pin 2 and power to pin 3. Car runs like no map w/ uberdata (won't turn on) and won't rev w/ chrome (but idles fine). Checked with voltmeter and I have .4v w/ car @ 20in vac and .17v @ 0vac (engine off). I would think that there would be more voltage at 0vac then 20in vac. Any help appreciated...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 10:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 746
Location: Daytons 4G Turbo Civic
i have it
but i run TurboEdit
maybe my info can help ya

0 volts = -30 InHg
1.75 volts = 0
4.5 volts = 21.5 PSI


heres is the wiring schematics
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:29 am
Posts: 574
I have had the Motorola 2.5 bar running on both OBD0 and OBD1 without problems. Crome Boost Tools even has it listed as a "standard" MAP sensor now.

/Bindegal


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:09 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Columbus, OH
Wait, so the only prongs on the 2.5 map sensor that need to be hooked up are 1, 2, and 3?

If so, that's easy enough. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:25 pm
Posts: 31
Location: mississippi
yes thats right, i installed mine yesterday, i just cut off 4,5,6. works great.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 1:22 pm 
Offline
Senior Developer

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:09 am
Posts: 4380
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
connecting the other pins on the 2.5 bar MAP will cause problems.
This should be wikied.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:30 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Jersey
Dave...give me some help on how to Wiki better.

I have an entire instruction sheet with pictures and shit in Word that I could easily convert and wiki.

You have my number...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:43 am
Posts: 518
Chris, Wiki works pretty well with html from the one or two things ive wiki'd.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:09 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Columbus, OH
Figured I'd put this in here in case anyone else had a question about it...

I just took my stock map sensor off of my TB, and I was going to put the Motorola 2.5 MAP on. But they arent the same size. The screw holes dont line up, and on the stock map sensor, theres a little thing on the bottom that goes into the TB. The Motorola one doesnt have that, but it has the little vacuum nipple or something on the side of it.

Anyone have any idea how this is supposed to work? I can post pictures of the 2 if you guys dont understand what I'm talking about.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:29 am
Posts: 574
No one ever suggested the Motorola to be a drop-in replacement, because it isn´t.
Wire it up somewhere in the engine bay/firewall and route a vacuum hose to it (preferably one going directly to the manifold without all kinds of other stuff attached!)

/Bindegal


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:09 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Columbus, OH
Oh ok.

So leave the stock MAP sensor in, but just dont hook anything up to it, and run a vacuum line to the Motorola MAP?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 746
Location: Daytons 4G Turbo Civic
TurboGoKart wrote:
Oh ok.

So leave the stock MAP sensor in, but just dont hook anything up to it, and run a vacuum line to the Motorola MAP?

yes
leave the stock one unhooked
wire the Motorola one inline to the 3 wires for the stock harness... but remember to have a plug in it, so u can unhook it and go back to the stock sensor if u need to.. and hook vacum to it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:30 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Jersey
Here is the instruction sheet I used. If anyone needs it or wants to Wiki it...I cant figure it out :oops:


Attachments:
File comment: 2.5 Bar Motorola MAP Instructions
25BarMAP.doc [183.5 KiB]
Downloaded 535 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 12:33 am
Posts: 221
Location: Salisbury, NC
xenocron wrote:
I cant figure it out :oops:


For shame! :wink: I got it Wikied for you: http://www.pgmfi.org/twiki/bin/view/Library/MapSensor

Thanks for the info!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 746
Location: Daytons 4G Turbo Civic
for all the dummies out there, since this is MAP sensor instalation 101 , i went ahead and added for them to cut the legs 4, 5 , 6 with a pair of dikes or something, so they dont have them just there and have touch Ground or something from the engine


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group