pgmfi.org

Hacking up Honda's ECU
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: TUNING
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:47 pm 

I have been reading on this site trying to figure out a simple approach to tuning an ECU. The one I will be practicing on is a p28, it is already chip but I don't know if it has a socket already in it. Which socket would I need
to use ?/ im very new to this please don't say read the wikime or whatever I have been the past 6 days, and cuttered w/info.

If you have a link you can send me that would be fine, please no smartass I really want to learn crome.

Here are some of my questions,
which wide band is preferred on a honda 4cyl?
and I want to be able to tune w/out having to burn a chip everytime I make a change. So would I need a hiccup or ostrich? I've been reading write ups on both and confused on which is better or more user friendly.
also can someone send me a link on datalogging and what its actually used for? sorry if I sound like a dumbass and im sure you are going to make look like one in this thread.
my aim name is supraccordlx if someone would want to talk to me on there about it.

thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:40 am 

if it's "chipped" it should be socketed.

Get an ostrich, you will never use anything else.

Get a HULog, it is RELIABLE... lol.

The best thing you can do, is take the top cover off your ECU and look for the chip in a socket down near the main MCU.... that way you know it's chipped.... I have seen a few already that people have replaced the freq. crystals in and.... well, that sin't chipped my friend... lol

widebands: I would say the best bang and reliability for the buck is the innovate LC1.... light compact, and les sthan $200 with a sensor... plus it has the scalable output so you can replace your stock o2 with it... just make sure you calibrate it about every oil change to be on the safe side.

datalogging: