pgmfi.org

Hacking up Honda's ECU
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]





Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:16 am 
do you get all your gauges to work?

I will try your setup to see if I get any changes.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
so whats the news? Anyone try it the other way to see what happens?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:49 am 
I have not had the chance. I have been doing an install for a latin festival in Santo Domingo.

I will be back in a week, then I will try it the other way.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
I just ordered 2 of those cables. So if they show up before you test it then I will try and test it both ways. I would rather hook it up the right way to start with. But if both ways are working, then something has to be wrong with one of the installs. Cause we are talking about 2 wires that are in different postions.

Anyway, I will have the ecu open at the time. So it should be easy for me to swap the 2 wires. I may wire up a quick connect for it or something so I can do it while Im right there in the car.

Have any of you tried this cable with a palm pilot version? I have it on my wifes palm waiting to go, as well as on my laptop. I wouldnt mind the palm for everyday use, and the laptop for when I am tuning and watching stuff.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 7:21 pm
Posts: 34
count_duku wrote:
do you get all your gauges to work?

I will try your setup to see if I get any changes.


yess everything work perfectly


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
My cable just showed up today, but I dont have a red or black cable in it. Instead I have an orange and a yellow.'

I do have the blue, green and white though.

SO I am going to look at the pinout to see what colors I really am supposed to use and post it here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
rotule, does your cable even have a black wire in it?

I ask because I dont have a black wire at all. SO mine wont hook up the way int he first post. It seems that they use whatever colors they want or have left over.

I am going to try it your way since I only have the 3 colors you have listed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
your way worked for me.

I only have one problem now, but Ill look it up before I post a thread on it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 9:50 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Ontario, Canada
what do you mean:
pin 1: white and ground?

i have the DKU-5 cable and it has white, red, blue, yellow and green wires.
What is the ground?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 11:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
white is ground and it goes to pin one. you can cut off the green and yellow. they wont be used


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 9:50 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Ontario, Canada
sick....thank you.
And to think, i was sooo close to just buying a hondalog or hulog b/c i thought that i got the wrong cable from EGAY.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:39 pm
Posts: 16
I just bought a DKU-5 cable and I only have 4 wires which are blue, yellow, green, and red. I'm not sure which is ground or the rx/tx cable so i opened up the big end with the usb plug and found out that yellow is ground because of the marking; if anyone can help me out and tell me which other wires are the tx/rx that will help out a lot.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
well, if you know for sure that yellow is ground then just hook up 2 of the left overs and see what happens. if it doesnt work, then reverse them and try again. still wont work then swap one of the wires for the last one and try again. there are only a few orders you can get the last 3 wires.

if you opened it up though tne i assume you found the one with the box in the middle!? because the ebay ones are sealed in the usb end. so you would destroy it trying to look inside


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:39 pm
Posts: 16
Quote:
if you opened it up though tne i assume you found the one with the box in the middle!? because the ebay ones are sealed in the usb end. so you would destroy it trying to look inside


Nope, I have the one with the enclosed end. It was simple to open because it snaps together. Well here is some crappy low res. picture I took with my PDA. (Will get better pic up when I find my dig cam) I marked the front pic of the usb with "ground indication" on it.


Attachments:
DKU-5 Back.JPG
DKU-5 Back.JPG [ 80.7 KiB | Viewed 6472 times ]
DKU-5 Front.JPG
DKU-5 Front.JPG [ 36.11 KiB | Viewed 6467 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 56
well, then I would still try it the way I said. It should only take you 5 minutes or less to find the right 2 wires.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group